Now Reading
5 Reasons Why …You Should Stan Monster Rookie Girl Group Everglow

5 Reasons Why …You Should Stan Monster Rookie Girl Group Everglow

You may have heard of the rookie girl group Everglow who mades wave in the K-pop industry in 2019, but who exactly are they? Well to start off, they are a 6 member girl group from Yuehua Entertainment that debuted just under a year ago on March 18, 2019. Within the group, it is possible to separate the members into two different concept categories: cute concepts — Onda, Sihyeon, and Yiren, and darker concepts — Aisha, E:U, and Mia. The group has yet to celebrate their one year debut anniversary, but they have already become known for their powerful and edgy aesthetic as well as fierce attitude. In barely any time at all, the group has had two international hit singles, ‘Bon Bon Chocolat’ and ‘Adios’, which are known for being heavily electronic songs with impressive bass drops.

Their fandom name is called FθRΣVΣR, which was revealed at the showcase for their second album HUSH, and represents the group’s wish to always be with their fans. So if you’ve found yourself jamming along to ‘Adios’ and ‘Bon Bon Chocolat’ and are wondering if you should become a FθRΣVΣR, here are 5 reasons why you should stan Everglow.

1. They are the full package

In February 2019, 1 month ahead of the official debut of the group, Yuehua Entertainment released a series of YouTube videos titled Crank in Film. These served as teasers to introduce the members of the new girl group. The video for each member emphasized different aspects such as their visuals or their dancing abilities.

Everglow is an incredibly well-rounded and diverse group. Their music videos for ‘Bon Bon Chocolat’ and ‘Adios’ have unique choreography and addictive melodies that you just can’t get enough of. With insane visuals, fierce rappers and singers, intense dancers, colorful visuals, captivating choreography, and catchy singles with melodies that will keep you hooked, Everglow has it all. If you’re looking for the next big thing in K-pop, then look no further.

2. They are monster rookies

Even though it hasn’t even been a complete year since their official debut, Everglow has already been nominated for numerous awards. They were nominated for two awards for the 2019 Asia Artist Awards, 4 for the Genie Music Awards, 4 for the Mnet Asian Music Awards, and 3 for the Seoul Music Awards this year in 2020. On September 24, Everglow got their first music show win for ‘Adios’, which is an incredible achievement for a rookie group.

3. They have shown so much potential

When Everglow released their debut album Arrival of Everglow, it debuted at number 6 on the Gaon Album Chart. The title track single ‘Bon Bon Chocolat’ currently has over 45 million Spotify streams and more than 53 million YouTube views. It debuted at number 5 on the World Digital Songs Sales Chart and was streamed more than 944,000 times in the United States during its first week of release. The song also debuted at #1 on Spotify’s Global Viral 50 playlist and remained on the chart for 4 weeks.

‘Bon Bon Chocolat’ Chart Rankings for Spotify Viral 50

  • #1 Malaysia
  • #1 Philippines
  • #1 Singapore
  • #1 Indonesia
  • #1 Taiwan
  • #2 Thailand
  • #2 Hong Kong
  • #2 Japan
  • 2 Vietnam

Following the success of their debut album, Everglow released their second album HUSH on August 19, 2019, with the title track ‘Adios’. In the song, the members sing about an ex-love and bid farewell to a relationship that went wrong. It features incredible production that includes whistling, a dance segment that is reminiscent of an army marching, and booming noises that perfectly match the choreography. ‘Adios’ debuted at number 2 on the Billboard World Digital Sales chart, along with 2 other tracks from the album. The song also debuted at number 1 on the A-List K-pop iTunes chart, and the music video currently has more than 87 million views and more than 32 million Spotify streams. By the end of 2019, Everglow had 2 of the most streamed songs by a rookie group for the year, with their tracks placing at 3rd and 5th place.

4. They are very passionate and ambitious

The name Everglow represents the members’ goal to consistently shine and demonstrates their passion and dedication to becoming a group that will flourish in the industry. Their logo includes a capital sigma symbol for the ‘E’ and a lowercase delta that is upside down in order to represent the ‘g’. Sigma is greek for the sum of the total, while delta means change. Together, these symbols represent how the group is always evolving and how each of the individual members’ skills, when combined, work to create a strong and powerful team. Everglow have stated that their group objective is to become renowned for their stage presence and performances, and they want to always do their best to stand out. 

5. They’re about to stun everyone again with brand new music

If you don’t already stan Everglow, well there’s no better time to start than now. It was just recently announced that they are making a comeback with their first-ever mini-album titled Reminiscence.

Not only is the group returning with new music, but they have also unveiled a brand new logo, following the pattern that they had established previously with their other 2 albums.

According to the timetable posted on their social media platforms, concept photos for Reminiscence will be released from January 22-24, while the tracklist will be revealed on the 25th, and teasers for the official music video will drop on January 29. A highlight medley of all of the songs from the album will be unveiled on January 31, and the album and title track music video will be released on the same day on February 3.

Can’t get enough of Everglow?

Want to learn more about Everglow? Back in August, the group released a reality show web drama on YouTube called Everglow Land which allows fans to learn more about the Everglow members’ personalities and their relationships with each other, through playing games and various activities like problem-solving. So if you want to get to know the members’ before their comeback, here is a good place to start.

It’s pretty clear that Everglow are a force to be reckoned with. They have already achieved some huge milestones in the very same year of their debut. So far, they only have two single albums, but the fact that they managed to have one hit single from each is incredible. Now the group is about to release their first EP, and I cannot wait to see what they have come up with this time. We may not know what the next title track is going to be called, but one thing is for sure, it’s definitely going to be a banger like their last two singles, and Everglow is definitely living up to their name. Don’t forget to check out Reminiscence when it drops on Monday February 3, at 6 pm KST (3:00 AM Central Time)!

What are you looking forward to with Everglow’s upcoming mini-album? Leave a comment down below or tweet us at @TheHoneyPop on Twitter!

To learn more about Everglow:

Featured image source: @EVERGLOW_twt

What's Your Reaction?
In Love
Not Sure
View Comments (2)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll To Top
%d bloggers like this: