QUIZ: Which NCT Sub-Unit Should You Be A Member Of?

QUIZ: Which NCT Sub-Unit Should You Be A Member Of?

Now, you may have heard that very soon, NCT will be having their comeback with NCT 2020. In case you are a new NCTzen, first off, welcome to NCITY! Second, we know that there is a lot of information to take in, and it might be a little overwhelming; four sub-units, 23 members, it can seem pretty intimidating at first. In actuality, it isn’t that hard to learn the basics of NCT! Here at The Honey POP, we’re going to help you get ready with a little bit of NCT 101, starting with their sub-units! Don’t forget to check out our quiz at the end to see which sub-unit you should be a member of!


NCT, which stands for Neo Culture Technology, has always had the concept of an infinite about of members, with different sub-units that will have a different focus in specific countries. NCT U is considered the main unit, and had its official debut in April of 2016 with the song ‘7th Sense’. This featured members Taeyong (who is regarded as the leader of not only 127, but NCT as a whole), Jaehyun, Mark, Ten, and Doyoung, although the debut of this unit saw the official debut of 14 of the now 23 members. Anytime members from the other units release a song in a unit together, it falls under the category of NCT U.
Songs to check out: ‘Baby Don’t Stop’, ‘Black On Black’, ‘Boss’, ‘Yestoday’

NCT 127

NCT 127 debuted as a unit in July of 2016 with ‘Firetruck.’ Originally, the group had seven members, Taeyong (the leader), Taeil, Yuta, WinWin, Jaehyun, Mark, and Haechan. In 2017, Johnny and Doyoung were added, and then Jungwoo was added to the group in 2018. In 2019, WinWin then began promoting with WayV, which now leaves 127 with nine active members. The group’s recent comeback, Neo Zone, and its repackage pushed the group into the one-million albums seller club, so we highly recommend checking it out when you get the chance! 
Songs to check out: ‘Kick It’, ‘Cherry Bomb’, ‘Baby Don’t Like It’, ‘Superhuman’


NCT Dream debuted in August of 2016, a month after the debut of 127, and they debuted with ‘Chewing Gum.’ Dream was another group that debuted with seven members, Mark, Haechan, Jeno, Renjun, Chenle, Jaemin, and Jisung. Mark was originally the leader of Dream until he graduated from the group in 2018. However, this past year SM did away with the graduating system, and Dream is now a fixed unit (which we screamed about when we read the news). The groups also recently released a track video for a song called ‘Déjà Vu,’ which features all seven members, making our 7Dream wishes come true!
Songs to check out: ‘Boom,’ ‘Ridin’,’ Drippin’,’ ‘We Go Up’


WayV debuted last year in January of 2019 and is NCT’s Chinese sub-unit. The group has seven members, Kun (leader), Ten, WinWin, Lucas, Xiaojun, Hendery, and YangYang; they debuted with the Chinese version of the 127 song ‘Regular.’ With NCT 2020 came the confirmation that WayV was a part of NCITY, and while only a year old, this sub-unit has already been making waves in the industry. Their latest comeback, Awaken The World, has no skips, and you won’t regret giving it a listen. 
Songs to check out: ‘Love Talk,’ ‘Moonwalk,’ ‘Electric Hearts,’ ‘Turn Back Time’

This is just a quick summary of each group, but we hope it gives a little more of an understanding as to who NCT and its concept as a group are. Now that you know a little about each group, we have a fun quiz to see which sub-unit you would fit in perfectly with! Check it out!

[os-widget path=”/the-honey-pop/which-nct-sub-unit-should-you-be-a-member-of”]

What were your quiz results? Are you excited for NCT 2020? Are you a new fan? let us know in the comments below or tweet us @TheHoneyPOP!

Need more NCT content? We got you!





Featured Image Source: SM Entertainment via Twitter

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Rachel Collucci

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

[…] album NCT Resonance Pt.1 – The Second Album, ‘From Home,’ may arguably be NCT‘s best ballad. The vocals on this emotional and uplifting track are otherworldly and carry a […]


[…] recently, Nakamoto Yuta was the only Japanese member of the KPOP boy group NCT and the only Japanese idol under SM Entertainment. He became their first Japanese idol when he […]


[…] you ready for more NCT? We know, we know. You’re probably still not over RESONANCE Pt. 1 (cause believe […]


[…] has been a non-stop year for NCT. Now the K-Pop group is back once more with Pt. 2 of NCT 2020, RESONANCE PT. 2 (which you can […]


[…] The surprise drop of NCT 2020 may be one of the top moments for K-pop in 2020. It brought together all their units and delivered a refined NCT sound. It gave us ‘Make A Wish,’ which became the MV with […]


[…] NCT 127 – ‘Love Song’ […]


[…] matter if you know Ten as a soloist, from NCT, WayV or SuperM, you know he is one of the most talented dancers out there. When it comes to […]


[…] concept. The group has an unlimited number of members, currently tallying in at 23, and with fixed units such as NCT Dream, 127, and WayV (and more to come 👀) and rotation unit NCT U, keeping up with […]

Back to top
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
%d bloggers like this: