Dizzy Has Our Heads Spinning With New Cover Song ‘This Must Be The Place’

Dizzy Has Our Heads Spinning With New Cover Song ‘This Must Be The Place’

Dizzy announces new Basement Covers EP to be released on November 13th on Communion Records.

Following their debut album Baby Teeth and sophomore follows up, The Sun and Her Scorch, Dizzy have coined a flair of crafting vibrant melodies and personal, entirely relatable lyrics.

Now, the Canadian quartet shares their first track, a cover song from the legendary Talking Heads, ‘This Must Be The Place,’ which you can stream right here, and be prepared; the vocals are breathtaking.

Frontwoman Katie Munshaw gives us some insight on the Talking Heads Cover, saying, “This Must Be The Place took on a new meaning once quarantine hit. We chose to cover it because it seemed like the perfect push and pull between being on the road and missing home and missing being on tour with your band while being stuck in quarantine.” We couldn’t agree more!

Dizzy ROCKS, And We Have Proof

This EP follows the four-pieces sophomore album The Sun and Her Scorch, which dropped earlier this year. The album was sensational, praised by NPR, Sunday Times Culture, The Line of Best Fit, and more. The band has taken to sharing some of their favorites by producing cover tracks available on YouTube to pass the time and keep creative during the quarantine. The new EP will be a collection of these covered with original recordings of the band’s most beloved tracks. Included will be previously unheard renditions of The National and Brittany Spears. Talk about versatility!

Their magic? It doesn’t stop there. Collaborations with Gengahr, U.S. Girls, and live performances with Bleachers and Oh Wonder, this gang is right on track for the big time. The proof? The band’s debut won the Juno Award for Alternative Album of the Year, a title held previously by Arcade Fire. This band is doing things right.

With their previous work and overall vibe, we’re super stoked for this EP. To help get you hype, here’s what you’ve got to look forward to with the tracklisting:

  1. Slack Jaw (Sylvan Esso Cover)

   2. Light Years (The National Cover)

   3. This Must Be The Place (Talking Heads Cover)

   4. Lucky (Britney Spears Cover)

How’s your head? Are you dizzy? Let us know your thoughts on the song by commenting down below or giving us a shout on Twitter @TheHoneyPop! You can also reach out to us on Facebook and Instagram!

Want more music content? Click me!


Featured Image Source: Ryan Faist

5 1 vote
Article Rating

Danielle King

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Back to top
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
%d bloggers like this: