Now Reading
Sweet Reads: Starting Off 2023 Right With These January Releases

Sweet Reads: Starting Off 2023 Right With These January Releases

With a new year comes new exciting books! This month is packed with books from so many different genres, from fantasy, to romance, to historical fiction, it’s got it all. Let’s dive into these January book releases!

Content warning: The Honey POP encourages mindful reading and always checking the author’s website for any additional content warnings.

The Love Match By Priyanka Taslim

Image Source: Courtesy of Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing

Our first January book release follows Zahra Khan who dreams of going to college for writing, but her hopes have been put on hold because of her family’s financial troubles. To make matters worse, Zahra’s mother is determined to find her a “good match”, which she thinks will solve their problems. But when she’s set up with wealthy boy Harun who’s equally as uninterested in being matched, the two decide to sabotage their parents’ plans. While her mom is focused on her fake relationship with Harun, Zahra is busy falling for Nayim, the new dishwasher at her work. This book sounds like the perfect way to start off the new year!

Release date: January 3
Order here!

Content warning: Grief from losing a parent 2 years prior, one instance of fat phobia, the Bangladeshi Liberation War (mentioned), homophobia (off page), past bullying/racism (brief, off page), colorism and sexism in South Asian communities (discussed)

The Stolen Heir By Holly Black

Image Source: Courtesy of Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Holly Black is taking us back to the world of Elfhame with this all new duology! Taking place eight years after the Battle of the Serpent, The Stolen Heir follows Suren, the queen of the Court of Teeth who has fled to the human world. There she’s been releasing mortals from bargains until she is attacked by a storm hag, and unexpectedly saved by Prince Oak. Who happens to be her betrothed, and a boy she’s resented for years Now Oak needs Suren’s help on a mission, but can she face all the horrors of a world she left behind?

Release date: January 3
Order here!

Content warning: violence

The Wrong Kind Of Weird By Jams Ramos

Image Source: Courtesy of Harper Collins

Cameron Carson is known for being a nerd, his friend group is called the Geeks and Nerds United club after all! So it’s no surprise when his summer fling turned sort of dating relationship with queen bee Karla is leading to some awkwardness. Enter Mackenzie, a girl who isn’t afraid to be totally herself. After being snubbed by Karla repeatedly, Cameron must decide who he can count as a true friend, or even something more. This book speaks to our nerdy hearts!

Release date: January 3
Order here!

Content warning: bullying

Token By Beverley Kendall

Image Source: Courtesy of Harper Collins

Tired of being the token diversity in her corporate boardroom, Kennedy and her best friend created the boutique PR agency Token. This company helps corporations and celebrities that are “diversity challenged” improve their reputation. But Kennedy soon finds out that situations can get complicated really fast, especially when her ex comes to her for help with the reputation of his company. This rom com sounds like the perfect mix of drama and romance!

Release date: January 3
Order here!

Unseelie By Ivelisse Housman

Image Source: Courtesy of Harper Collins

Do you love twin stories as much as we do? Then this next January book release is for you! Unseelie follows twin sisters who live very different lives, one as a treasure hunting rogue, and the other an autistic changeling. But after a heist gone wrong, the sisters stumble upon a bigger mystery which just might reveal secrets that are even more valuable than the treasure they’ve been searching for.

Release date: January 3
Order here!

Content warning: ableism, mentions of child abuse, self-harm for magical purposes, violence/blood, mild body horror

Cool. Awkward. Black. Edited By Karen Strong

Image Source: Courtesy of Penguin Random House

We don’t know about you but we love anthologies! That’s why we can’t wait to read Cool. Awkward. Black. which features short stories spanning many genres, all written by bestselling Black authors. This book celebrates Blackness and geekiness in all forms. From contemporary to sci-fi to historical fiction, it has something for everyone!

Release date: January 10
Order here!

Friday I’m In Love By Camryn Garrett

Image Source: Courtesy of Penguin Random House

A title that references one of the most iconic rock songs of all time means this book is already right up our alley. Since Mahalia wants a Sweet Sixteen like her best friend and also wants the new girl to like her back, she dreams up the perfect combination: a coming-out party. But turns out taking on party planning all on her own creates more drama than she bargained for, and her brilliant plan begins to unravel into chaos. This sounds like a refreshingly hilarious, sweet coming-of-age story about queerness and falling in love, and we’re so down for it!

Release date: January 10
Order here!

A Tale Of Two Princes By Eric Geron

Image Source: Courtesy of Harper Collins

Twinces is the new Twitches! Edward is the Crown Prince of Canada who goes to a fancy private school in Manhattan, while Billy is a small-town kid who lives on a ranch in Montana. But when they have a chance to meet in NYC, it’s truly a Sister Sister moment as they realize they’re actually long-lost twins. Thus begins the journey of their royal reunion as the boys navigate royal duties, coming out, and more!

Release date: January 10
Order here!

This Is Not A Personal Statement By Tracy Badua

Image Source: Courtesy of BooksForward

This college-themed YA novel is said to be perfect for fans of Mary H.K. Choi and Gloria Chao, which just so happens to include us! Perla Perez is the youngest graduating senior at her prestigious high school, so when she’s faced with rejection from her dream college, she must figure out where to go from there. Through a forged acceptance letter, she makes her way to campus anyway and sets out to get a real acceptance by spring semester. How long can she maintain the lie?

Release date: January 17
Order here!

Another Dimension Of Us By Mike Albo

Image Source: Courtesy of Penguin Random House

The Breakfast Club meets The OA? Say less. This book jumps through time to tell the story of Tommy, Renaldo, and Pris. In 1986, Renaldo is struck by lightning and something is off afterward. Then, in 2044, Pris has a nightmare about a boy named Tommy and a house nicknamed “The Murder House.” Through a self-help book that’s actually a portal for trans-dimensional travel, the whole crew in both timelines races to save Renaldo from his fate.

Release date: January 17
Order here!

Content warning: homophobia, racism, bullying

As You Walk On By By Julian Winters

Image Source: Courtesy of Penguin Random House

In another Breakfast Club-influenced story that gives off major iconic teen drama energy, Theo is riding high on all his carefully curated plans working out. But when his promposal to his crush goes wrong during a huge party, he hides out in a bedroom upstairs and confronts an existential crisis. But as friends and classmates join him throughout the night to do the same exact thing, he realizes he isn’t alone.

Release date: January 17
Order here!

Content warning: public humiliation, past death of grandparent, microaggressions, homophobia, underage drinking, weed, sexism, sexual harassment, car accident death (past)

Retro By Jarrod Shusterman and Sofía Lapuente

Image Source: Courtesy of Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing

When a competition called the Retro challenge is announced, it promises a scholarship to the contestant that can live without modern technology for a year, and Luna jumps at the chance. But when things start to get dangerous, Luna starts to wonder if the company in charge has more sinister motives. Mystery, action, and intrigue! We can’t wait for this adventure!

Release date: January 24
Order here!

Content warning: attempted suicide, bullying, anxiety, animal death, death of a parent (mentioned), body dysmorphia (mentioned), blood, drugging, forced confinement

See Also

Sun Keep Rising By Kristen R. Lee

Image Source: Courtesy of Penguin Random House

Our next January book release follows B’onca, who is a teen mom facing eviction after the gentrification of her neighborhood. In order to help pay the bills, B’onca puts together a risky plan, but in the end, it could cost her everything. We’re immediately adding this book to our TBR!

Release date: January 24
Order here!

Content warning: drug addiction, racial inequality

The Davenports By Krystal Marquis

Image Source: Courtesy of Penguin Random House

In 1910, the Davenports are a Black family with wealth and status due to the founding of the Davenport Carriage Company. Olivia, the oldest daughter, is set to wed another aristocrat when she meets a civil rights activist who changes everything. Meanwhile, her sister Helen is a tomboy who doesn’t care about love until she falls for her sister’s suitor. And childhood friend and maid Amy-Rose and best friend Ruby are both head over heels for the Davenport sisters’ brother. This charming historical romance-drama inspired by a real family already has us hooked!

Release date: January 31
Order here!

One Girl In All The World (Buffy: The Next Generation, Book 2) By Kendare Blake

Image Source: Disney Hyperion, Courtesy of SparkPointStudio

Another installment in the world of Buffy The Vampire Slayer is here! The sequel to In Every Generation follows Frankie, a slayer-witch who defeated the Countess with her friends and is dealing with the aftermath of the deadly explosion at the slayer retreat. Now, the Hellmouth has been reawakened and new demons and monsters are coming to wreak havoc in Frankie’s world.

Release date: January 31
Order here!

Vampire Weekend By Mike Chen

Image Source: Courtesy of Harper Collins

This one has vampires and punk music, so what more could we really ask for? Louise Chao is a vampire who decides to join a band in a search for belonging since she doesn’t have a family after decades as a vampire. But when a long-lost teen relative shows up, she feels a connection after all. Things may not be so happily-ever-after, though, when the teen discovers her true identity and things get way more complicated than just rock music and blood bags.

Release date: January 31
Order here!

We’re so excited to dive into these new January book releases! What are your reading goals for the year? Let us know in the comments below or by tweeting us @TheHoneyPop! You can also visit us on Facebook and Instagram!

Looking for more book recommendations? Check this out!

What's Your Reaction?
Excited
0
Happy
0
In Love
0
Not Sure
0
Silly
0
View Comment (1)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

© 2022 The Honey POP. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.
Scroll To Top
%d bloggers like this: